Compositions of

Chitravina N Ravikiran
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

108 Divya Desha Gaanaamrtam

Chitravina N Ravikiran’s 108 Divya Desha Gaanaamrtam (Musical Nectar of 108 Holy Abodes) is a pioneering creation in the history of Indian Culture and Music. This inspired creation consists of 108 individual compositions in 4 languages – Sanskrit, Tamil, Hindi and Telugu. Each of these is dedicated to a specific Divya Desham, which are shrines of Vishnu eulogised by the pioneering 12 azhwars and include Srirangam, Tirupati, Ayodhya, Dwaraka, Mathura, Badrinath, Chennai, Trivandrum besides two in the celestial world, Tirupparkadal and Vaikuntham (paramapadam). Many of them have been presented by leading  musicians as well as exponents of spiritual discourses.

A striking feature is that Ravikiran composed the entire 108 songs in merely 45 days (from 4 June – 19 July, 2022). An added speciality is that a subset of it also forms Ravikiran’s 72 Mela Raga Mala compositions – individual pieces in each of the 72 Principal Scales (Melakartas) of Indian Classical music – attempted only by very few composers to date. This set of 72 was composed in 36 days (between 10 June and 16 July). 

Index of Compositions

Total no of posts: 110